After achieving three wins, the Cruzeiro football team took home the coveted Brazil Cup trophy for good in 2000.

Starting in 2001, participants of the Brazil Cup will compete for a brand new sculpture, just commissioned by CBF, the Brazilian Football Confederation.

Supporting his continuing mission of valuing professional football on all levels, and in addition to the administrative procedures the CBF has assumed all these years, president Ricardo Teixeira decided that it's important to emphasize sports events as "cultural activities that are essential to the solid formation of a national identity, with special attention given to football because of its extraordinary presence in Brazilians' lives".

The new sculpture for the Brazil Cup was created by Holoassy Lins de Albuquerque, the same artist who designed the previous trophy.

The Trophy Design Concept

In the artist's point of view, "When creating a new visual symbol, it's important to provide continuity in order for it to be incorporated into the collective unconscious and instantly recognized wherever it's seen, being immediately associated with a specific event.

"Because of Brazil Cup's rules, it was necessary to create a new piece, and aiming to keep the visual identity of the trophy, the new sculpture was developed following the same basic structure and lines of the previous one, preserving the primary image already imprinted on spectator's minds, although showing distinguishing new characteristics.

"The new trophy for the Brazil Cup is a stainless-steel sculpture with a golden metal insertion carefully crafted to make the blue sphere on the top of it stand out. This blue sphere simultaneously represents a ball and the Earth globe, symbolizing the spiritual magnitude of this sport for the whole planet, because as long as men sublimate their aggression through healthy sport practice, we will move towards an era of true universal peace."

The new trophy adds an extra dimension of excitement to the 2001 Brazil Cup game.

Holoassy Albuquerque
New York, June 2001.